Need reviews for your business? Try Reviewtec!
Embark on an unforgettable journey with Saltery Adventures, where the pristine wilderness of Kodiak serves as the backdrop for a thrilling escapade. Whether you're an angling aficionado or a wildlife enthusiast, Saltery Adventures tailors experiences to your passions. Marvel at the rich tapestry of local fauna, or feel the rush of reeling in a bountiful catch under the expert guidance of Carly, Luke, and their dedicated crew. With Saltery Adventures, every trip is meticulously organized, ensuring a seamless adventure that caters to both sightseers and fishermen alike. Join them for a day of four-wheeling, river fishing, and creating memories that resonate with the heart of Alaska's natural splendor.
Google Review
4 stars
Had so much fun the first day we had to schedule a second day on the Saltery with them. Our guide Dylan was awesome and put us on the Coho all day long along with great pointers on fly fishing in general. Can't recommend this enough over fishing the road system.
-not somebody - Posted Sep 21, 2023
Google Review
5 stars
Guides were great and the ride was fun
- Trevor Hoffman - Sep 15, 2023
Google Review
5 stars
Our day trip was absolutely amazing! Dylan (our guide) was personable, knowledgeable, and made the trip better than we could've imagined. Thanks for the memories that will last a lifetime!
- Alex Crampton - Sep 14, 2023
Google Review
5 stars
Guide was very knowledgeable about the area, put us on fish immediately, even got to see some Kodiak brown bears and golden eagles after we limited out. Great trip!
- Ian Mccuistion - Sep 14, 2023
TripAdvisor Review
5 stars
We had a group of 8 plus our two guides Dylan and Monte.
We had 2 side by sides and 1 ATV.
Our guides were very knowledgeable and were very kind.
We saw eagles, bears, wild horses and beautiful scenery.
It was a great day despite some rain at times.
It was an unforgettable experience and I would highly recommend it.
- CANagle - Sep 13, 2023
Google Review
5 stars
Had a great stay with Lucas and the team. Salmon fishing was awesome and the hospitality is unmatched. The ride in on the CanAm ATV is a real adventure. It was our first visit and it will not be our last.
- Rick Williams - Sep 13, 2023
Google Review
5 stars
Our guide Dillon was awesome. Not only did we catch our limit on Silvers in 30 minutes, we saw at least 6 bears. Awesome!
- Jim H - Sep 12, 2023
Google Review
5 stars
Was an absolutely amazing overnight adventure! Dylan was an outstanding guide and took care of everything we asked! We fished and had an epic bear sighting. Couldn't have asked for a better trip.
- Abigail Croot - Aug 27, 2023
Google Review
5 stars
Our guide, Monte, understood exactly what we wanted to accomplish, he was extremely knowledgeable, patient with a bass fisherman, very professional. And yes, many fish were caught. I would definitely recommend Saltery Adventures.
- s clingan - Aug 27, 2023
TripAdvisor Review
5 stars
Fantastic fishing in an incredible wilderness
Aug 2023
We spent three days salmon fishing with Saltery and the trip checked all the boxes. We had great fishing with a knowledgeable and patient guide. We saw bald eagles beautiful landscapes, and Kodiak bears, followed by good food and conversation in a comfortable lodge.

The owner Luke and our guide Dylan took very good care of us throughout the trip. They filleted and sealed all of our fish at the end of each day. The folks at Saltery know this area, the rivers, and the salmon run, and are happy to share their knowledge and love of Kodiak.

Myself, my son in law and my friend are all fly fishing newbies. Dylan had us set up and catching fish within an hour. It is an exhilarating experience to watch salmon swimming up stream, then target one to see him take your fly.

Make no mistake, you are in a remote area, but the accommodations are great. The quad ride out is almost half the fun.

I would highly recommend this trip for the sportsman who is looking for a spirited fishing adventure. We're already planning our next trip to Kodiak.
- 1SimpleGuy - Aug 23, 2023
Google Review
5 stars
What a great trip! Luke and his team are fantastic. The fishing was incredible - they really have a special place to stay and fish. This was our first time fishing in Alaska and we can’t wait to come back. The lodging, hospitality and accommodations were excellent. If you’re looking for a great fly fishing experience in a world-class destination, this is it.
- Michael Barrett - Aug 16, 2023
Google Review
5 stars
Super Fun trip!! Our tour guides Monte and Cody were amazing. Taught us newbies how to fly fish and we rocked the Sockeye. Also saw a Mama Bear and 2 Cubs up close. We had a Blast! Highly Recommend!!
- Joseph Alcorn - Aug 16, 2023
Google Review
5 stars
Incredible fishing only overshadowed by a phenomenal experience in the Alaskan wilderness, comfortable cabins and some fun UTV rides! Guides, cooks and various staff are all top notch and add to the fun. A true outdoorsman's paradise.
- Jordan Rice - Aug 15, 2023
Google Review
5 stars
- Keith Offill - Aug 15, 2023
TripAdvisor Review
5 stars
This was my first trip to Alaska and my first time fly fishing. I had a BLAST! This group did everything to make sure we got to see all the wildlife, too. Dillon was a terrific guide, and a pro driver! Trish made us feel SO at home. Such a great cook! Thanks to Luke for the warm welcome and to the whole crew for such a memorable experience. I want all the same people when I come back!
- Cathrine M - Aug 14, 2023
Google Review
5 stars
This was my second time at Saltery adventures. Luke and Stephanie are great hosts. Fishing was amazing as were the facilities. Highly recommend this adventure if you like the outdoors and all it has to offer.
- Dan & Lori Nelson - Aug 12, 2023
Google Review
5 stars
An absolutely unreal trip to Alaska! If you’re wondering how to get the most out of your trip to this beautiful land, Saltery Adventures is the way to go!! Shoutout to Luke, Trish, and Dillon! You three were great. You’ll have the opportunity to see so much wildlife, hit the best fishing spots, and be truly immersed in the outdoors. This is such a unique experience and I cannot wait to bring my family back! Don’t miss the pictures I’ve attached to this review!
- McKenna Thomas - Aug 10, 2023
TripAdvisor Review
5 stars
This was my second adventure with this outfitter and again I highly recommend them. Strong communication, great equipment and wonderful guides (thank you Tyler and Cody). Coming back for a three peat!
- Olydon - Aug 10, 2023
Google Review
5 stars
Great trip with Dylan & Cody! Got us on the fish and some great video of Brown Bears! Awesome!
- David Winkley - Aug 10, 2023
Google Review
5 stars
This was one of the best trips I’ve ever been on. Summer is the best, my 16 year old just got back from on an adventure trip there on her own.

And I’ve been twice in the winter, both times with my family, and just the ride out there was a freaking amazing adventure!

My wife and kids, (3, 5 and 16) also loved it.

They have these badass 4x4 all terrain vehicles that I wish I could drive every day.

The beaches and the mountains and the wildlife and the staff, are top notch.

I couldn’t recommend this more. Go. Do it. And then tell your friends!
- trevor crane - Aug 09, 2023
Google Review
5 stars
What an experience! I have always ocean fished when coming to Kodiak and it has always been a blast. We had some miscommunication and one of our ocean days was canceled. Our captain lead us to this company to try out some river fishing. Fly fishing those reds was so amazing we caught a ton of fish and it was my first time fly fishing for fish that big. Our guides were great and kept us informed with the best practices involving techniques as well as keeping us on the fish. We saw a bear who the guides knew by name. The feeling of a sockeye ripping line through your spool is a feeling you will never forget, definitely recommend this company!
- isaac christian - Aug 07, 2023
TripAdvisor Review
5 stars
Luke and the rest of the guides were patient, friendly, and very helpful. We had a great time and caught a lot of fish, despite our first time fishing for Reds.
- Adam C - Aug 06, 2023
Google Review
5 stars
2nd time in 2 years we've gone up the trail to Saltery with this excellent group of guides and it was amazing both times. They taught a city slicker buddy of mine named Mario how to fly fish so if he can be taught anyone can be by this crew! Awesome experience! Thanks again!!
- Tyler Buettner - Aug 06, 2023
Google Review
5 stars
If you are looking at this just book the trip. These guys are amazing.
- steve zolman - Aug 05, 2023
Google Review
5 stars
We had a great time! Everything we expected and wanted. Our guide Dylan was outstanding.
- Greg Greer - Aug 04, 2023
Google Review
5 stars
Luke and his team at Saltery Adventures are AWESOME! The guides are attentive and wanting you to be successful. Great food, clean accommodations and some of the best views you will see on this planet! We are booking again if that tells you how much we love it. Highly recommend!
- James Henderson - Jul 25, 2023
TripAdvisor Review
5 stars
These guys are top notch! Great day starting with ATV ride followed by salmon fish and bear viewing. It’s a must do in Kodiak.
- Jay C - Jul 22, 2023
Google Review
5 stars
Our family did the full day salmon trip. TBH, we weren’t sure how our teen daughters would like getting up early in chilly weather, but it ended up being the highlight of our vacation! The ATV trip was a fun ride through very scenic terrain and the fishing spot was perfect. We started with VERY limited fly fishing experience, but the guides were very knowledgeable, attentive, and patient. All of us learned a lot and brought home enough salmon for a couple months. Lunch at the owner’s home was the perfect way to cap off the trip. I would recommend this trip to just about anyone!
- Amie Murphy - Jul 22, 2023
Google Review
5 stars
Had a great time with Luke and Monte good food good times great fish
- Canady Patrick - Sep 22, 2022
Google Review
5 stars
I had such an awesome time in saltry from start to finish Monty your an awesome guide he taught me to fly fish great teacher and I caught my first silver of the year. And I thank a dear friend for this gift it was like a big thank you from God for a job well done what a way to end the summer. Anybody who is bringing up family or friends and want an adventure book a trip with saltry adventures
- Janelle Brenteson - Sep 21, 2022
Google Review
5 stars
This fishing adventure was out of this world. The ride to the river, the lessons from the guide, the lunch, the salmon and the bear watching was all super! We will be back again!
- Tim Harms - Sep 19, 2022
Google Review
5 stars
Our family had an amazing trip with Saltery Adventures. The trails to get to the salmon fishing river was exciting and our guide made sure go at a pace that added to our enjoyment. The guides did a great job teaching us how to fish for the salmon and were very patient with us as we got the hang of it all. They took extreme care of us handling everything!! If we ever go back to Kodiak we will make this the first adventure we book and would make this our main destination
- James Peterson - Sep 19, 2022
Google Review
5 stars
What an amazing trip in Kodiak with Carly! Great ATV ride and fishing trip!
- David Winkley - Sep 17, 2022
Google Review
5 stars
Great adventure. Luke is terrific!
- Gary Abrams - Sep 17, 2022
Google Review
5 stars
A beautiful trip in and out to a fantastic fishing location. Lots to see. The Silvers were there but many had lockjaw. Still we managed to bring some filets back. Wonderful, knowledgeable guides. I would go back for sure.
- bert owens - Sep 17, 2022
Google Review
5 stars
- Patrick Keane - Sep 16, 2022
Google Review
4 stars
I got sick and did not make, rest of group had a good time. Mike 👍👍👍👍👍
- Mike McDermott - Sep 16, 2022
Google Review
5 stars
Best experience. Would do it again. Big D was a great guy and showed us everything we wanted to see. Worth the price. Did I mention bears? Yeah we saw a bunch of them. If you’re wondering should I? Do it.
- Erik Benson - Sep 15, 2022
TripAdvisor Review
5 stars
Our guide Monte did a great job making our excursion a memorable experience! He was willing to flex with our plans and was very patient in helping us learn how to fly fish correctly. When a bear came into our fishing hole he was very knowledgeable in how to handle it correctly and enjoy the encounter. At the end of the day he went over and above as he helped us get the fish to the processor and even went back to his own business to get some ice to help keep the fish fresh until they opened. Great guide and a great time!
- Shane K - Sep 15, 2022
Google Review
4 stars
- Perio Arts Of Colorado - Sep 15, 2022
Google Review
5 stars
Awesome adventure Luke and the boys are the best. If your thinking about going do it ! It will exceed your expectations !
- Todd Hegstad - Sep 01, 2022
Google Review
5 stars
We had a fantastic adventure with the best guides in the business! The adventure begins with a fun and exciting ride on side-by-sides. Luke and Stephanie made us feel very welcome on our overnight trip. Steph made excellent meals and Luke guided us all over the area with his expert knowledge. We saw lots of bears and caught even more fish. This weekend exceeded all of our expectations and we will definitely be back. Thanks Luke, Steph, Devin, and Marissa!
- Cory Legg - Aug 29, 2022
Google Review
5 stars
Bottom line: you will see bears. On our trip we saw 7! The ATV ride was so much fun but you will get dirty so dress accordingly. We took my 4 and 5 yo nieces and they had a lot of fun too, definitely a kid-friendly activity. Our guide was great with the kids and knowledgable of the bears. We opted not to do fishing and just rode around all day looking for wildlife. We saw plenty: wild horses, otters, seals, bears, fish! Wow, what an incredibly fun and unforgettable experience. Bring binoculars and a camera.
- Kaitlyn Hutchins - Aug 25, 2022
TripAdvisor Review
5 stars
Awesome trip, Luke (and Devin) we’re great, saw lots of bears and fishing was awesome, never fly fished before, but they teach you, and was soon catching fish
- Kendall F - Aug 25, 2022
Google Review
5 stars
Luke and the crew made a last minute reservation happen for our group of 16 and we had no regrets. The trip through the Kodiak backcountry was amazing. We covered a lot of ground and had a blast. Seeing the Kodiak bears up close eating in the river was a moment we will never forget. Thanks again to the team at Saltery Adventures!!
- Phil Polito - Aug 24, 2022
TripAdvisor Review
5 stars
Awesome trip, Luke (and Devin) we’re great, saw lots of bears and fishing was awesome, never fly fished before, but they teach you, and was soon catching fish.
- Kendall F - Aug 24, 2022
Google Review
5 stars
Great experience at the Saltery in August! UTV trip was a bit longer than expected but worth it. The kids got to experience picking salmon berries for the first time, saw some bears, caught some fish and had a grand time :-)
- Andrew Benbow - Aug 23, 2022
TripAdvisor Review
5 stars
Great outfit. Had a wonderful time. Kids loved it. Fishing was awesome and guides were top notch. Definitely coming back. Saltery creek holds lots of fish.
- William C - Aug 14, 2022
Google Review
5 stars
What a great time!! Carly was an excellent guide, who showed us exactly where the fish were & helped the beginners in our group learn the ropes. Thank you for such a wonderful time!!
- B b - Aug 09, 2022
TripAdvisor Review
5 stars
Was great. Carly was an excellent guide
Would definitely go with her again
Lunch was very nice
What a great to catch fish see bears wild horses and seals all on the same trip.
- William B - Aug 09, 2022
TripAdvisor Review
5 stars
Carly was a fantastic guide! She is an expert with the rugged AVT trail that took us to the river. She put us right on a “honey hole” - my casting arm got tired pulling in so many fish! My husband got a trifecta photo of a bald eagle, brown bear and wild horses all in one frame! After lunch, we went to the weir to watch the bear do their own fishing - we were up close to the action. The entire day was awesome!
- Sharon H - Aug 09, 2022
Google Review
5 stars
Lucas Smith and his crew at Saltery Adventures run a 1st class operation! The experience that he offers is second to none. Saltery Adventures is the true Alaska Experience where you will make incredible memories that will last forever. If you want to catch lots of fish, see Kodiak Grizzly bears and seriously relax off the grid this is the trip! This trip is on my Calendar every July!!!
- Ryan Smith - Aug 09, 2022
TripAdvisor Review
5 stars
Great communication from the office and wonderfully guided, can’t wait to do it again. Marissa in the office was super about communication and Carley our guide was a wonderful person with a great personality and big time knowledge. We are really lucky to have experienced this excursion. Hope to see you next year on our free day in Kodiak.
- Olydon - Aug 08, 2022
Google Review
5 stars
This adventure was such a positive and fun experience! ATV ride was a blast and the fishing was exciting . Luke and Devin provided the best instruction and hands on detail .
- Amy WIngate - Aug 06, 2022
TripAdvisor Review
5 stars
Luke, Devin and Marisa were amazing hosts. We spent 2 weeks in Alaska trying to see all of the best spots and the day spent with Luke and team was by far the highlight of the trip. The ATV tour traversing Kodiak Island, followed by salmon fishing alongside Kodiak bears created memories to last a lifetime. I would highly recommend this tour for anyone seeking a true Alaskan adventure.
- Jeff H - Aug 06, 2022
Google Review
5 stars
We had a large group and they handled it like pros. We all really enjoyed the day and all caught a lot of fish!! Must do in Kodiak.
- Raymond McFarlane - Aug 03, 2022
Google Review
5 stars
What an Amazing trip of a lifetime. Was finally able to plan this trip with my 16 year old son, my good friend and his son. Saltry Adventures did not disappoint! Luke and his staff went out of their way to make sure we got on fish and made sure with had everthing we needed. Wow what a trip!!
- Robbie Tupper - Jul 31, 2022
TripAdvisor Review
5 stars
We had a wonderful guided tour. The guides took time to explain the land and share their property with us. We had great conversation, the kids sang some songs, and we had saw a bunch of animals!
- Sarah P - Jul 31, 2022
Google Review
5 stars
It was amazing. I actually caught a fish by fly fishing. Luke and his crew were very friendly and extremely patient with me. I am 68 years old and I felt the whole river fishing joy of 4 wheeling, bears in the area fishing with us and a great crew.
- Ginger Knab - Jul 28, 2022
Google Review
5 stars
Thank you Luke and Carly for helping me fish. It was the greatest time of all. Carly even fell trying to save my caught fish. Thank you from Chuck Knab
- Virginia Knab - Jul 28, 2022
TripAdvisor Review
5 stars
Whole trip was great! They did good job organizing and keeping the trip moving throughout the day. Carly was a great guide and we saw lots of wildlife during our trip. We wanted a trip based on sightseeing but the other group out that day was more focused on fishing and they caught a lot of fish. Whether looking for wildlife or fish or both, Saltery delivers!
- Jeff - Jul 27, 2022
Google Review
5 stars
My trip was incredible!!! Can’t wait to go back and stay for several days next year! Love it!
- Stephanie Wyszkowski - Jul 26, 2022



Saltery Adventures | 1815 MillBay Road, Kodiak AK , United States